My Life is the Lord's

Leviticus 1:14-17 (NKJV)

14 ‘And if the burnt sacrifice of his offering to the Lord is of birds, then he shall bring his offering of turtledoves or young pigeons. 15 The priest shall bring it to the altar, wring off its head, and burn it on the altar; its blood shall be drained out at the side of the altar. 16 And he shall remove its crop with its feathers and cast it beside the altar on the east side, into the place for ashes. 17 Then he shall split it at its wings, but shall not divide it completely; and the priest shall burn it on the altar, on the wood that is on the fire. It is a burnt sacrifice, an offering made by fire, a sweet aroma to the Lord.


The first 5 Chapters of Leviticus reveal the 5 different kind of sacrifice the people of Israel were expected to give. In Christ, all of them have found their fulfillment. However, they have applications to believers's lives today. Although, we are not commanded to offer animal as sacrifices anymore, we are encouraged to present our bodies as living, holy, acceptable sacrifices to the Lord. The birds in this passage represent each of us, who we are and what we have, which we wholeheartedly offer to the Lord.

  1. The Head - speaks of our _________________________.
  2. The Crop - represents our _________________________.
  3. The Feathers - symbolize our _________________________.
  4. The Wings - stand for our _________________________.
  5. The Blood - denotes our _________________________.